Kentucky Motorists Beware: Mandatory Insurances Changes Coming
New changes in Kentucky driving laws could spell trouble for motorists without proper insurance. The Kentucky Legislature has mandated that all uninsured motorists across the state receive notices in the mail stating registration for their uninsured vehicle(s) will be cancelled if they do not obtain the required insurance, or if they fail to provide proof of existing insurance.
Once motorists receive the notice, they will have 30 days to show the appropriate proof of insurance. People with registered vehicles who have been without insurance coverage for 60 days will receive the notices. It is, after all, illegal in the state of Kentucky to drive without insurance.
Tom Zawacki, Commissioner of the Department of Vehicle Regulation, said: “It is vitally important that vehicle owners who receive an uninsured notice follow the instructions on the notice and contact their county clerk or the Division of Motor Vehicle Licensing. They may also have to contact their insurance company, but that should not be the first step. They must take action. The notice cannot be ignored.”
This mandatory insurance initiative has been established for and aimed at drivers who have dropped their insurance coverage after their vehicles were registered. It’s estimated that around 30,000 notices will be sent each month.
There’s never been a better time than now to get your vehicle properly insured, not only because it’s the law, but because car insurance protects you and your family in the event of an accident. Take advantage of our instant auto quote to find how we can help. With more that ten competitive insurance companies available, Schwartz Insurance Group will help you save money on your auto and home insurance.